Robert – Overview

Posted on June 28, 2012

0


[Editor’s Note:  This week, Living the Dream is publishing its 100th post.]

June 2 – Weight = 201

100th post! Okay – I’m a few weeks late writing this. Time for an overview:

Robert’s weight loss secrets:

  • Stretch. Gently. 5 minutes after getting up and 5 minutes before going to bed.
  • Do something very active at least twice a day for at least 20 minutes.  I bicycle to work.  I push hard five minutes into the ride and back off after 20 minutes so I have time to cool down before I get to work and before I get home.
  • Stop eating in front of the TV. Eating should be a separate activity.  Yeah – I snack in the car and at my desk too, but meals should be sitting down at a table and not doing anything else except socializing. Snacking in front of the TV, though, is deadly. You just don’t notice how much you eat.
  • Weigh every morning and every evening. My weight fluctuates about 5 pounds a day – heavier in the evening with food and water.  Be very sensitive to what your fluctuation range is.
  • Don’t worry too much about weight – pay attention to your clothes.  Your clothes will tell you more about your success in weight loss than your actual weight. If you’re doing it right, you will be gaining muscle while losing fat.  You may not see your weight go down when you’re in muscle building cycle, but you will notice the change in your waistline.
  • Don’t give up.  I still have 30 pounds to lose – or about 4” around my waist. I’ve been stuck for months. But I’m not about to give up until I get where I want to be.

It’s simple. Burn more calories than you eat. Very simple, but far from easy.

rbs

Posted in: Healthy Living